LEV testing directory and reports for the UK

LEV training courses compared

BOHS sets the LEV qualifications, and only its approved training partners can run them. 6 UK companies are approved for P600, P601, P602 or P604, and 3 publish course prices. Every course and price below is as each company publishes it, checked on 20 October 2026.

UK approved training partners
6
Lowest published P601 fee
£1,095 + VATGully Howard Technical
BOHS P601 exam fee, 2026
£330
Partners that publish prices
3 of 6

The qualifications

Which course do you need?

The four BOHS LEV qualifications build on each other. P601 is the testing qualification. P602 adds design, and P604 adds commissioning and needs a P601 pass first.

  1. P600

    Level 3

    Testing methods

    Length
    One day, at least six hours of teaching
    Covers
    The parts of an LEV system and the measurement and testing techniques used on it.
    Entry
    BOHS recommends it before P601 for anyone without prior knowledge of LEV measurement.
    Assessment
    A 30-minute multiple-choice exam.

    From £350 + VAT

    See P600 courses BOHS course details
  2. P601

    Level 4

    Examination and testing

    The testing qualification

    Length
    Typically four days, at least 24 hours of learning
    Covers
    The thorough examination and test (TExT) of LEV systems and the written report.
    Entry
    Candidates must know HSG258. BOHS recommends P600 first for anyone without that knowledge.
    Assessment
    A practical assessment, written theory and practical exams, and two workplace reports.

    From £1,095 + VAT

    See P601 courses BOHS course details
  3. P602

    Level 4

    Design

    Length
    Typically four days, at least 24 hours of learning
    Covers
    Designing LEV systems and judging how well a design performs.
    Entry
    BOHS says P601, or equivalent learning, is desirable.
    Assessment
    A written theory exam and two design case studies.

    From £1,295 + VAT

    See P602 courses BOHS course details
  4. P604

    Level 5

    Commissioning and management

    Length
    Typically five days, at least 32 hours of learning
    Covers
    Commissioning or recommissioning an LEV system and managing its performance.
    Entry
    Candidates must have passed P601 before they attend.
    Assessment
    A written exam and a commissioning report.

    From £1,495 + VAT

    See P604 courses BOHS course details

Published prices

Prices at a glance

Each dot is one course fee before VAT, as the training partner publishes it. BOHS exam fees are paid on top.

  • P600: Gully Howard Technical £350 + VAT
  • P600: Vent-Tech £375 + VAT
  • P600: OXYL8 £395 + VAT
  • P601: Gully Howard Technical £1,095 + VAT
  • P601: Vent-Tech £1,375 + VAT
  • P601: OXYL8 £1,485 + VAT
  • P602: Vent-Tech £1,295 + VAT
  • P602: OXYL8 £1,595 + VAT
  • P604: Vent-Tech £1,495 + VAT
  • P604: OXYL8 £1,695 + VAT

The full list

Every course and price

Filter by qualification. Follow a link to check dates and book with the training partner.

Showing 12 courses

LEV training courses from BOHS approved training partners, checked 20 October 2026
Course Training partner Course fee BOHS exam fee Length How it runs Details
P600
Testing methods
Gully Howard Technical
Based in Portsmouth
£350 + VAT Not stated One day
  • No dates listed
Training partner's page
P600
Testing methods
Vent-Tech
Based in Bristol
£375 + VAT BOHS exam fee extra One day
  • Online
  • In person
Training partner's page
P600
Testing methods
OXYL8
Based in Grantown-on-Spey
£395 + VAT BOHS exam fee £80 + VAT extra One day
  • Live webinar
  • Classroom, usually Hilton East Midlands
  • In-house
Training partner's page
P601
Examination and testing
Gully Howard Technical
Based in Portsmouth
£1,095 + VAT Not stated Four days
  • In person
Training partner's page
P601
Examination and testing
Gully Howard Technical
Based in Portsmouth
£1,095 + VAT Not stated Four days
  • Online
Training partner's page
P601
Examination and testing
Vent-Tech
Based in Bristol
£1,375 + VAT BOHS exam fee extra Four days
  • Online
  • In person
Training partner's page
P601
Examination and testing
OXYL8
Based in Grantown-on-Spey
£1,485 + VAT BOHS exam fee £355 + VAT extra Four days
  • Live webinar
  • Classroom, usually Hilton East Midlands
  • Classroom, Edinburgh
  • In-house
Training partner's page
P601
Examination and testing
Diamond Environmental
Based in Frodsham
Not published Not stated Four days
  • Public events
  • In-house
Training partner's page
P602
Design
Vent-Tech
Based in Bristol
£1,295 + VAT BOHS exam fee extra Four days
  • Online
  • In person
Training partner's page
P602
Design
OXYL8
Based in Grantown-on-Spey
£1,595 + VAT BOHS exam fee £270 + VAT extra Four days
  • Live webinar
  • Classroom, usually Hilton East Midlands
  • In-house
Training partner's page
P604
Commissioning and management
Vent-Tech
Based in Bristol
£1,495 + VAT BOHS exam fee extra Four days
  • Online
  • In person
Training partner's page
P604
Commissioning and management
OXYL8
Based in Grantown-on-Spey
£1,695 + VAT BOHS exam fee £270 + VAT extra Four days
  • Live webinar
  • Classroom, usually Hilton East Midlands
  • In-house
Training partner's page

Notes on the list

  • Gully Howard Technical, Portsmouth: approved for P600, P601 and P604. Its LEV course list does not include P604.
  • Diamond Environmental, Frodsham: approved for P600 and P601. It does not publish a price for P601, and its courses page does not list P600.
  • AAA Training, London: approved for P600, P601, P602 and P604. Its course list shows asbestos and water hygiene courses only, with no LEV course.
  • Salvus Business Solutions, Derby: approved for P600 and P601. Its website has no training or course pages.

The BOHS directory also lists BOHS itself and one training partner based in Australia. Neither is included here.

Search the BOHS directory of approved training partners.

Paid on top of the course

BOHS exam fees for 2026

BOHS charges an exam fee for each candidate on top of the course fee. Candidates pay it through their training partner. The fee covers every part of the first assessment, and the exams are online by default. The BOHS fee list does not say whether VAT applies.

BOHS exam fees per candidate, 2026
QualificationExam fee
P600 Testing methods£80
P601 Examination and testing£330
P602 Design£245
P604 Commissioning and management£245

Some training partners quote a different exam fee on their own pages. OXYL8, for example, lists £355 + VAT for P601. Check the total with your training partner before you book.

BOHS 2026 exam fees (PDF)

Not a qualification

Courses for people who manage LEV

These courses cover the duty holder's side: choosing the right system, checking it and keeping records. They are not BOHS qualifications and they do not train you to carry out a thorough examination and test.

  • HSE

    LEV: Practical management of controls

    £595 per person

    One day

    People who buy LEV and review and manage existing LEV controls.

    Course page
  • Human Focus

    LEV Management for Duty Holders

    £295 + VAT

    About six hours, fully online

    Duty holders who manage LEV, and staff who operate it.

    Course page
  • M&M Compliance Training

    LEV Awareness Training

    £420 + VAT per person

    One day

    Staff who use LEV: basic user checks, legal duties and reading a TExT report.

    Course page

What HSE says

Is P601 a legal requirement?

No. When asked whether it requires LEV-related qualifications, HSE answers:

No. HSE mentions certain training courses in its guidance, as examples, but does not require suppliers to have these qualifications.

HSE also says a training course by itself will not make a person competent. Competence comes from knowledge, skills and experience together.

Read HSE's LEV questions and answers

Read our guide to LEV tester qualifications

Qualified and testing LEV?

List your company on LevHQ for free and receive quote requests from duty holders near you.

List your company

Need your LEV tested?

Tell us how many systems you have and we send your request to up to three testers who cover your site. Paid listings come first, then the nearest.

Request quotes

Common questions

LEV training questions

How much does a P601 course cost?

Published P601 course fees run from £1,095 to £1,485 before VAT at the training partners that publish prices. The BOHS exam fee for 2026 is £330 on top. Prices checked on 20 October 2026.

How long is the P601 course?

BOHS says P601 typically runs over four days, with at least 24 hours of learning. Every training partner here that publishes a P601 length lists four days.

Do I need P600 before P601?

Not always. BOHS asks P601 candidates to know HSG258 and recommends P600 first for anyone without prior knowledge of LEV measurement.

Can I do P601 online?

Yes. OXYL8 runs it as a live webinar, and Vent-Tech and Gully Howard Technical offer it online. Ask how the practical parts are assessed before you book.

What is the difference between P602 and P604?

P602 covers designing LEV systems and is level 4. P604 covers commissioning a system and managing its performance, is level 5, and you must pass P601 before you attend it.

Guides for duty holders