Prices that listed companies publish
On 19 October 2026 LevHQ looked at all 177 listed companies. 173 have a website, and five of those publish a price for an LEV thorough examination and test. On 8 November 2026 LevHQ read those five pages again, by direct fetch and with a second tool. Every price was the same as in October.
LevHQ also read the websites of Express Weldcare Services, GRT Testing and Inspection, Plant and Safety and LEV Testing Leicester on 8 November. None showed an LEV test price on the pages read. Most listed companies do not publish a price.
Four figures are starting prices. Total Extraction gives a flat price per test. Robinsons prices each LEV unit and Impact prices a small system, while Luwa and MCG do not say what their price covers. Only Robinsons and Total Extraction say VAT is extra. LevHQ does not set or verify any of these prices.
Impact Technical Services publishes two figures. Its LEV testing page says from £250, which the table uses. A sidebar on another Impact page and a 2021 Impact article say from £150.
| Company | Published price | What the company says it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Impact Technical Services | From £250, VAT not stated | Smaller systems with a single extraction point. Larger systems are quoted individually. | Impact LEV testing page |
| Luwa UK | From £200.00, VAT not stated | Not stated | Luwa LEV design and testing page |
| MCG Environmental Engineering | From £175.00, VAT not stated | Not stated | MCG LEV testing page |
| Robinsons Facilities Services | From £150 per LEV unit, excluding VAT | Each extraction system, with multi-unit discounts, across Yorkshire and the Humber | Robinsons LEV testing page |
| Total Extraction Solutions | £150 per test, excluding VAT | Per test, as stated on its London, Midlands, North West and Yorkshire pages | Total Extraction London page |
What changes the price of an LEV test
A starting price covers the simplest job the company describes. The table lists six things that differ from site to site, with the source for each. Ask each tester how they affect your price.
| What changes the price | What the source says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Systems and hoods | HSG258 lists airflow readings at hood faces, branch ducts and the main duct, and pressure readings at the test points on all hoods, ducting, air cleaner and fan. Impact says the cost "depends on the size and complexity of your system". Robinsons says its rate per unit drops when several are tested on the same visit. | HSG258 paragraph 339; Impact and Robinsons LEV testing pages |
| Missing commissioning records | The examiner uses the commissioning report, user manual, logbook and last test report where they exist. If none exist, you can ask the examiner to produce a commissioning report as an extra service. That service and its cost are agreed between you and the examiner. | HSG258 paragraphs 334 and 335 |
| Access and permits | The employer and examiner co-operate. The employer arranges permits to work where necessary, and safe access. | HSG258 paragraph 333 |
| Travel | Impact says it uses "local engineers across the UK to reduce travel expenses". Ask whether travel is in the price. | Impact LEV testing page |
| VAT | Robinsons and Total Extraction state that their prices exclude VAT. Impact, Luwa and MCG do not say. | The company pages in the table above |
| Repairs and retests | Robinsons says repairs found during the test are quoted separately, and its page describes a retest after repairs. HSG258 says that with the employer's consent an examiner may make simple alterations that restore performance, such as rebalancing a system. HSG258 paragraph 342 says that if a system is unsafe, the examination should stop until it has been repaired and its original performance restored. | Robinsons LEV testing page; HSG258 paragraphs 341 and 342 |
What to send each tester so quotes match
Quotes only compare if every tester prices the same job. HSE advises giving each one a simple description of the work you want done. Send each tester the same details.
Tick each item once it is ready to send.
What to ask before you accept a quote
Put the answers in writing. The written scope is what you compare, not the headline figure.
Tick each answer you have in writing.
HSE time is a separate cost
HSE's current rates page lists the fee for intervention at £188 an hour for the time HSE takes to identify what is wrong and help you put things right. That page was updated on 1 April 2026.
HSE says the fee applies where HSE is the enforcing authority and an inspector finds a material breach of health and safety law and tells you in writing. HSE says that if you do not break the law, you will not pay anything. The fee is a charge for HSE's time, not an LEV test price. HSE can change the rate, so check its page.
Get more than one quote
HSE advises always getting more than one quote, and a quote for your site is the figure to compare. The guide to choosing an LEV testing company, linked in the table below, covers what to ask each tester.
Where to go next
This page covers test prices. These pages take the next question further.
| Question | Where to look |
|---|---|
| The basics | What is LEV testing? |
| The gap between tests | How often is LEV testing required? |
| Inside the site visit | What happens during an LEV test? |
| Reading the finished report | Your LEV test report and certificate explained |
| Choosing between companies | How to choose an LEV testing company |
| Who is qualified to test | LEV tester qualifications |
| What HSG258 says | HSG258 explained |
| Installing or replacing a system | LEV design and installation companies |
Check what you know
3 quick questions from this guide. Nothing you choose is saved or sent.
-
Show the answer
The simplest job the company describes. Impact's LEV testing page, listed in the price table, says its price is for smaller systems with a single extraction point and larger systems are quoted individually. Ask each tester what their price covers on your site.
-
Show the answer
Robinsons and Total Extraction. The price table shows only Robinsons and Total Extraction saying VAT is extra. For any price that does not say, ask for VAT to be shown separately.
-
Show the answer
A charge for HSE's time when an inspector finds a material breach and tells you in writing. HSE's rates page lists the fee at £188 an hour. HSE says it applies where HSE is the enforcing authority and an inspector finds a material breach and tells you in writing. It is a charge for HSE's time, not an LEV test price.
Get prices for your workplace
Tell us about your site and your request goes to up to three testers who cover your area. Agree what is included directly with the testers.
Request quotesQuestions duty holders ask
How much does an LEV test cost?
Five companies listed on LevHQ publish headline prices of £150 to £250 on their own websites, read on 8 November 2026. Four are "from" prices for the smallest job. None is a quote or a market rate. Your price depends on your systems and hoods, site access, travel and whether commissioning records exist. HSE advises getting more than one quote.
Does the price of an LEV test include VAT?
It depends on the company. Robinsons and Total Extraction state that their £150 prices exclude VAT. Impact, Luwa and MCG do not say either way on the pages LevHQ read. Ask each tester to show VAT separately in the quote, so you compare like with like.
Does an LEV test price include repairs or a retest?
Not necessarily. Robinsons says repairs found during the test are quoted separately, and its page describes a retest after repairs. It publishes no retest price. Ask each tester whether repairs, adjustments and a return visit are in the price, and how extra work would be agreed.
Why can a missing commissioning report add to the cost?
The examiner compares your system with its commissioning records. HSG258 paragraph 335 says that if none of the documents are available, the employer could ask the examiner to also carry out a commissioning report. That is an additional service, and any costs are agreed between the client and the examiner.
Is your next test due?
Put in the date of the last test and get the deadline, with a reminder if you want one.
LEV test due date calculatorUse the directory to find an LEV tester near you.
Find LEV testing companies
Browse LEV testing companies across the UK, or choose a region.
- LEV testing in East Midlands
- LEV testing in East of England
- LEV testing in London
- LEV testing in North East
- LEV testing in North West
- LEV testing in Northern Ireland
- LEV testing in Scotland
- LEV testing in South East
- LEV testing in South West
- LEV testing in Wales
- LEV testing in West Midlands
- LEV testing in Yorkshire and the Humber
Sources
- HSE: LEV frequently asked questions, finding a competent person, opened 7 November 2026
- HSE: HSG258, paragraphs 333 to 335, 339, 341 and 342, opened 6 November 2026
- HSE: fees and charges, current rates, opened 8 November 2026
- HSE: what is fee for intervention?, opened 8 November 2026
- Impact Technical Services: LEV testing page with its starting price, size and travel, opened 8 November 2026
- Impact Technical Services: news page quoting from £150 for a single test point system, opened 8 November 2026
- Impact Technical Services: page with a sidebar link to book an LEV test from £150, opened 8 November 2026
- Luwa UK: LEV design and testing page with its starting price, opened 8 November 2026
- MCG Environmental Engineering: LEV testing page with its starting price, opened 8 November 2026
- Robinsons Facilities Services: LEV testing page with its price per LEV unit, repairs and retests, opened 8 November 2026
- Total Extraction Solutions: London LEV page with its price per test, opened 8 November 2026